Monday, September 15, 2014

Losing Streak by Kristine Wyllys - Review

Losing Streak (The Lane, #2)



Happiness doesn't come without a price.

Rosemary Young knows the Lane. It's where she grew up, raising a brother barely younger than she was. It's where she served drinks, wearing a gaudy uniform in a low-lit bar to support her mama. It's where she fell for a boy from the wrong side of the tracks. Brandon Williams might've had a taste for gambling and been headed nowhere fast, but something about him made her almost forget every promise she ever made.

These days when Rosie walks the Lane, it's on the orders of the man who owns it. The man who owns her—Joshua King. A bet gone wrong ties her to him, serving as the collateral Brandon didn't have. For Brandon the guilt is a white-hot brand, but Rosie can't bring herself to regret it completely. The safety of those she loves is worth the sacrifice.

Now King's called Brandon back to town early and given Rosie one last job to do before they're free. Nothing—not even King—will keep Brandon from Rosie, not after three years of simply existing without her. And before it's all over, everything that had been done in darkness will come to light and nothing in their lives will ever be the same again


Party2


author
Kristine Wyllys

Kristine Wyllys is a 20-something foul-mouthed introvert with big hair and bigger sunglasses, born and raised in a city full of college kids and dying automotive plants outside of Detroit. These days she kicks off her boots in a town too tiny to be considered one in the northern version of the Carolinas. She married her high school sweetheart, a boy she calls Betty, when they were still babies and together they made a pair of sweet-faced, magical babies all their own: a charming old soul of a boy with a crooked grin who’s on the spectrum and a wild, second-born prince with mischievous eyes and a fierce left hook.

facebook | twitter |tumblr | goodreads

Carina Press | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Books | iTunes | Kobo


10509732_10204053526156056_7635415947166261003_n



Jen's Review - My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I didn't realize this was the 2nd book :) It might be nice to read Bri's story after reading about her in this book :)

Cute story - it was a little hard to read - might be because I didn't read the first book. The story was told like you knew everything and everyone, but they were reminding you in this book -

Other than that, it was a good story! I really liked how Rose and Brandon were tied into everything -

Rose isn't an easy girl to live with - even with herself. She has so much anger and frustration - but that's not all. She's a good girl with morals and her own feelings -
Her sick mom and her brother mean the world to her ,and she'd do anything she could to protect and help them.

When Rose met Brandon, she was struggling. Trying to get money to help pay for her mom's hospital visits.
When things turn worse for her mom. She turns to Brandon for help.

Little did she know exactly who Brandon was working with in his gambling problems.

Rose got suckered into this new life. Her life where her brother kept stealing booze from the bar he worked at, her mom was still sick, but she was doing ok, and Brandon couldn't be with her.

But that's not all - she's found herself in a lifestyle that she knew was morally wrong. She hated every second of it. But with all the threats that hung over her head, she had no choice but to go through with everything.

The ending surprised me a little. But I'm a sucker for a great ending :)

Really good story - think I'll read book 1 next to see if it clears up my confusion from before - the book is written to be read as a standalone book - but I think it might be better after reading the first one :)




Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Right Kind of Wrong by Chelsea Fine - Release Day - Review

Right Kind of Wrong (Finding Fate, #3)


Sometimes wrong can feel oh so right . . .

Jenna Lacombe needs complete control, whether it’s in the streets . . . or between the sheets. So when she sets out on a solo road trip to visit her family in New Orleans, she’s beyond annoyed that the infuriatingly sexy Jack Oliver wants to hitch a ride with her. Ever since they shared a wild night together last year, he’s been trying to strip away her defenses one by one. He claims he’s just coming along to keep her safe-but what’s not safe for her is prolonged exposure to the tattooed hottie.

Jack can’t get Jenna out from under his skin. She makes him feel alive again after his old life nearly destroyed him-and losing her is not an option. Now Jack’s troubles are catching up to him, and he’s forced to return to his hometown in Louisiana. But when his secrets put them both in harm’s way, Jenna will have to figure out how far she’s willing to let love in . . . and how much she already has

amazon-buttonB&N-Buttonibookstore



Tattooed beautiful woman in old spooky interior




“You wait here,” Jack says, getting out of the car. “I’ll be right back.”

“Uh-uh.” I open my door and climb out as well. “I need to pee.”

He pauses with a furrowed brow. “Can’t you hold it until we get Samson back to my place?”

I prop a hand on my hip. “Hold it? No, Dad. I’ve been holding it for three hundred miles.”

“Jenna, you don’t want to use the bathroom in this place. Trust me.”

I scrunch my face in confusion. “What’s your deal right now? Let a girl pee, okay?” I start marching for the front doors of the seedy-looking bar.

In three quick strides, Jack’s beside me and talking in a hushed tone. “If you go in here with me, I need you to stay by my side. Do you understand?”

I snort. “In the bathroom? Yeah, I don’t think so.”

“I’m being serious.” He pulls my arm and I spin to face him in annoyance.

But my irritation quickly dissolves into bafflement when I see his expression. He looks worried. Really worried. Almost…scared.

“This isn’t a bar like the Thirsty Coyote,” he says. “Hell, this isn’t really a public bar at all. And you…” He glances over my tight tank top and red shorts. “Well, you’re going to draw attention.” He meets my eyes. “I need you to stay right by me when we go inside.” He lowers his voice. “Please.”

I shift my jaw back and forth, not sure what to think. I get it. This isn’t a girly bar and he doesn’t want guys to mess with me and blah blah blah, but come on. Stay by my side? I’m an adult with an overstuffed bladder, not a toddler wandering around Disneyland.

This is so out of character for Jack. Ever since we arrived in this town he’s been acting weird. Shady, even.

I scoff. “Fine. Whatever. But so help me, if you try to follow me into the bathroom stall I will yank off your balls and flush them. Understood?”

He moves forward, eyes narrowed. “You’re a violent little thing, you know that?”

“Yep.”

He opens the door to the bar, but unlike usual, he doesn’t hold it open for me. Instead, he steps inside and pulls me in behind him, keeping me hidden behind his massive shoulders as the door closes at my back.

Okay, not cool.

I start to move around him, curse words ready to leap from my tongue, but stop in my tracks when I realize the loud chatter inside the bar has significantly quieted. Peeking out from behind the big shoulder in front of me, I watch people, one by one, turn their heads to the door and park their eyes on Jack.

An odd tension fills the air, almost dangerous and definitely careful, but curious as well as more of the crowd turns our way.

These people know Jack, apparently, and they all look…hard. Like, motorcycle-gang hard. Even the women look like they could slice my head off with a single swipe of their excessively long, acrylic fingernails. I look at Jack and frown.

His playful smile is gone, replaced by a hard scowl, and his chest is puffed out more than usual. I’m suddenly not as desperate to pee anymore. I can hold it for another few minutes. Hell, I can hold it for another few hours, if need be.

And need might very well be.

A hefty man stands behind the bar, staring Jack down in a confrontational way. He looks to be in his fifties, with leathery skin and fat knuckles, and his shoulder-length gray hair is pulled back into a neat knot, matching the gray handlebar mustache curving out beneath his nose.

One second passes. Then two. Three.

“So the prodigal son has returned,” the hefty bartender says, and the quieting chatter fades even more as ears perk up in every corner.

“I hate to disappoint you, Jonesy,” Jack says in a rough voice I’ve never heard him use before, “but I’m only here for Samson.”

Silence.

This is clearly some kind of standoff. I’m not sure if I should be worried, scared, or on my way to getting the hell out of Dodge. But one thing’s for certain: Everyone in this bar knows Jack. And not in a friendly way.

I look up at the tall, dark, and hunky guy I’ve been traveling cross-country with and bite my lip. I thought I knew Jack inside and out, but maybe I was wrong. His jaw is tight, his eyebrows are knitted in fury, and his white-knuckled fists are clenched and ready to rumble. And everyone in the room seems to be afraid of him.

I don’t know this Jack at all.


RKoW teaser 6 copy


Jen's Review
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


I love this series!

It's been a while since I read the first two books - but I remember Pixie and Levi well :)

Janna and Jack - I can't remember them from the other books - well a little of Jenna since she's Pixie's roommate, but I don't remember much else.

In this story - jack and Jenna are friends - their friendship is a little hard to see because Jenna keeps Jack at a distance though. In the book they talk about knowing each other inside and out - they hooked up once last year, but the connection they shared scared Jenna so bad, she refused to let Jack get any closer.

But Jack felt the connection as well, and he wanted more of it. He knew Jenna was afraid and gave her the space she needed.

In this story, they both needed to get back home to Louisiana. The drive there was full of tension - both lost in thought and anger about letting each other in.

When they get there, Jenna learns there is more to Jack's past than she knew - what scared her the most was how accepting she was of it, where most people would run away screaming.

Really cute story - I enjoyed this one a lot - it was different than the other two books since Jenna and Jack already had the connection :)





chelsea146crop smaller
Chelsea Fine

Bio
Chelsea lives in Phoenix, Arizona where she spends most of her time writing stories, painting murals, and avoiding housework at all costs. She’s ridiculously bad at doing dishes and claims to be allergic to laundry. Her obsessions include: superheroes, coffee, sleeping-in, and crazy socks. She lives with her husband and two children, who graciously tolerate her inability to resist teenage drama on TV and her complete lack of skill in the kitchen

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Forever Kinda Love by Clara Stone - Review





Forever Kinda Love







Life’s. Little. Surprises.

The last thing seven-year-old Carrigan "Ace" Casper foresaw was an eight-year-old Heath Lovelly walking into her life the day her mother died. From that moment on, Heath sticks by her side, slowly becoming her strength, her confidant, and her entire world. What she doesn’t know is, she's his saving grace, too.

Ten years later, Ace is handed another crippling challenge that threatens everything in her almost perfect life. Only, this time, she doesn't turn to Heath, hiding the truth instead. But Heath knows Ace too well and won't back down easily. He's ready to do whatever it takes and will stay by her side until she accepts that their love is the kinda love worth fighting for.

Will he be her forever triumph or her unexpected downfall?

Two lives.

One story.

And an unexpected journey to falling in love






Jen's Review 
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Totally loved this story!

Heath and Ace found each other when they were 8 years old - saving each other from a world full of sorrow by bring smiles and happiness with each and every day.

10 years later, their friendship is still strong - Heath, the playboy that he is - finding a little of Ace in every girl he gets close with.

Heath is a strong guy who cares for Ace, and lets everyone know that if they mess with her, they mess with him.

While they have their own seperate lives going on in high school, their crowd does mix together somewhat. With Ace being a cheerleader and Heath being on both the football and Lycross team, but Ace is a little more serious about life.

When Heath discovers his feelings for Ace has grown into more than he can ever admid, he struggles with wanting to be with her, and afraid of losing her as his best friend.

Ace has always loved Heath. But she needed his friendship more than she needed anything else.

This is really a sweet story - had me in tears a lot - reading on pins and needles waiting right there with them :)



Amazonb&napple logokobo
Priya Kanaparti
TwitterfacebookgoodreadsPinterst Amazon







  





Friday, August 29, 2014

This is Falling by Ginger Scott - Review

This is Falling



First, I had to remember how to breathe. Then, I had to learn how to survive. Two years, three months and sixteen days had passed since I was the Rowe Stanton from before, since tragedy stole my youth and my heart went along with it.

When I left for college, I put a thousand miles between my future and my past. I’d made a choice—I was going to cross back to the other side, to live with the living. I just didn’t know how.

And then I met Nate Preeter.

An All-American baseball player, Nate wasn’t supposed to notice a ghost-of-a-girl like me. But he did. He shouldn’t want to know my name. But he did. And when he learned my secret and saw the scars it left behind, he was supposed to run. But he didn’t.

My heart was dead, and I was never supposed to belong to anyone. But Nate Preeter had me feeling, and he made me want to be his. He showed me everything I was missing.

And then he showed me how to fall




Ginger Scott
Ginger Scott

A Little About Me

Ginger Scott-EidenI tell stories for a living. It’s a pretty great gig, actually. Each story has led to an amazing encounter, be it a new appreciation for the view from atop a polo horse to a deeper understanding of what it means to be the parent of a child with autism. I’ve told the stories of Olympians, comedians, doctors, teachers, politicians, activists, criminals, heroes and towns. You can check out a small sampling here or, heck, just Google me — my journalism work is usually under Ginger Eiden. I published my debut novel, Waiting on the Sidelines, in spring 2013, and in July 2014, I published my fourth novel, a new-adult romance about hard choices and second chances. My fifth book, a really raw college romance called This Is Falling will be out later this summer!

As always, I’d love to hear from you.




Excerpt : 

Rowe

I was feeling brave when I picked McConnell. It was one of those afternoons where everything was suffocating me, and the college packet was just staring me in the face.

Two years of being homeschooled by a woman who taught economics at the state university would prepare anyone for a stellar performance on their SATs. The test was actually easy. I finished quickly and didn’t even spend time checking answers like all of the prep books told me to do. I turned in my booklet to the campus proctor and got the hell out of the testing room. Three weeks later, it showed up in the mail—a 2390, near perfect. That meant scholarships. And scholarships meant options.

For months, I fought the idea of going away to school. I’m not ready to be out, to be on my own. I don’t think I’ll ever be ready. Two years of homeschooling also left me a little out of practice when it comes to social interaction. And college is all about social interaction.

My parents were pushing me. I don’t think they thought I’d call their bluff and pick a school a thousand miles away. But I was hoping they’d call mine when I slid the McConnell acceptance across the table to them.

They didn’t. My dad smiled and looked at my mother, both of them breathing deeply, ready to take this step. I wasn’t. I’m still not. I’m not even remotely close to ready. But I want to be. I’m desperate to be ready. I’ve spent the last seven hundred days of my life seeing everyone else live from my self-imposed bubble. My biggest romance was watching some couple fall in love on a reality TV show, and the only prom I attended was in a movie. It’s like I’m caught in an internal tug-of-war with myself—my heart begging to beat from thrill, but caged by fear.


Click here to read the rest of  Chapter 1 on Ginger Scott's blog 

Jen's Review - My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Totally loved this book!!!!

Rowe isn't a normal girl - she is shy - but it's more than being shy, she's afraid - of everything. She wasn't always like this - but when she was 16, something happened. She lost her best friend, her boyfriend was living as a vegetable, and she survived everything.
For 2 years she was home schooled and afraid to leave her house and those she trusted - but 2 years later when she needed to leave for college, she couldn't go through with it.

But 2 years is a long time to live your life in solitude. She didn't want that anymore - so she pushed away her fears and tried. With the promise from her parents that she could return, she tried.

Nate is a good guy. Not a typical Jock. But he's had his heart broken and had his rebellious ways - now he's tired of living the life of a single guy and wants to find someone who wants to stay with him.

When he sees Rowe, she's just his type.

But Nate doesn't fully understand why Rowe needs to sit in the back corner booth so she can watch the whole restaurant. But it doesn't bother him. As long as she's happy, he's happy.

Their relationship started off good and strong - they had great chemistry and a lot of fun together. Some of their pranks were off the charts hilarious. Their back and forth teasing was fun.

We got a glimpse of Ty - Nate's older brother and Cass - Rowe's roommate and best friend. They look like they have a good story - and after you read this book, you get a peek into the next story - and i CAN'T WAIT!!!

Loved this story to pieces :)

Favorite Coffee, Favorite Crush by Victoria Pinder Blitz





fav coffee fav crush grds
Book Title: Favorite Coffee, Favorite Crush Author: Victoria Pinder Genre: Contemporary Romance Release Date: June 2014 Hosted by: Book Enthusiast Promotions

Penny moves back to Miami to start her a job with a list of things to accomplish. 1. Find a place to live. 2. Avoid her gold-digging mother. 3. Reconnect with old high school friends: her best friend Sandra, the dramatic Eva, the dark Michael, her half-brother Wyatt, and her former crush Jay. Jay may have kept her firmly in the “friend zone”, but that didn’t stop her from wanting more. Her five friends have stood by her through some difficult times and she’ll need their help now to accomplish her first two goals. As soon as Jay sees Penny, he puts his plan into motion. His investors need to see him with a stable woman, one who isn’t all flash and no brains; Penny fits the bill perfectly. There’s just one hitch—he wants more. Their pretend date sets off a whirlwind of plots. From mothers who want to control their children’s lives to the loss of her exciting new job, Penny’s world turns upside down. She knows she can overcome all obstacles except one—she’s falling for Jay all over again.



Excerpt: 

Chapter One
Jay Marshall pressed his lips together as he held the phone. His hands curled into a ball then straightened. He stared out his bay windows overlooking the ocean. Another beautiful day on the beaches of South Florida, not that he cared. Sunshine never filled him with joy. The humidity outside suffocated the spirit, but somehow, with this deal, he'd break free.
"Yes, you'll see I mean business, Mr. Danvers. My business plans are long term."
Danvers sucked in his breath, as if he were doubting the sincerity of Jay's words, then told Jay. "And I'll meet your girlfriend. It's always telling with people from Miami. Flashy women and cars do not make good investments on my end."
Jay gritted his teeth and tugged at his free ear, but kept the phone on the other. Miami advertised plastic women on the highway as a special brand. Flashy came with the area code. Instead he nodded his head and told the potential investor, "I understand. See you next week."
He hung up the phone and stared out the window. The brightness showed his reflection and his grim frown. Jay needed to win. His eyes squished together. He¹d pay the price for success. He had no other choice.
Jay's mind raced to his technical girlfriend. Eva was the epitome of flashy, beautiful, and fake. She'd been a friend since high school, and two months ago, they¹d ended up dating. On paper the award winning dramatic actress, his money, and their history should be a match. Yet he couldn't imagine his entire life videotaped.
If he walked away from her, there would be no regrets. His investors hoped he had a nice, sweet woman on the side. His cousin and her friend, Penelope, flashed in his head before he dropped the thought.
He pushed his hand on the glass window before he stepped back into the shadows of his office.
Darkness didn¹t suit him either. Nothing stirred inside him anymore, though he craved something. Anything other than boredom from the sticky heat of his life.
He shook his head and poked his head out of his office. His secretary sat there typing. "Call Eva. Set up an appointment for us to talk today."
With the click of the door knob he rolled up his sleeves. He needed the deal to put his goals in line with his investment portfolio.
His eyes narrowed in on the first words, long term growth.
Long term read to his eyes like a rescue rope. He blinked. Life should be lived with long term goals to reach. Freedom meant change.
Today, he'd break up with Eva. In his heart, he'd always hoped for a woman that tugged at his heart strings. But hopes didn't earn freedom. He'd prove to himself, and the others, John Jay Marshall came out of the game of life on top.





 Meet the Author : 
Victoria Pinder grew up in Irish Catholic Boston before moving to the Miami sun. After realizing she needed change, she became a high school teacher. Teaching is rewarding, but writing is a passion. She always wrote stories to entertain herself or calm down. Her parents are practical minded people demanding a job, but when she sat down to see what skill she had that matched what she enjoyed doing, writing became so obvious. The Zoastra Affair, Chaperoning Paris, Borrowing the Doctor, and Electing Love will be published from Soul mate Publishing. Mything the Throne will be published with Double Dragon Ebooks. Favorite Coffee, Favorite Crush will be published with Jupiter Press. Now she is represented by Dawn Dowdle of Blue Ridge Literary Agency. Also she’s the Vice President of Programs for the Florida Romance Writers. She’s gone to multiple conferences and intends to continue. Her website is www.victoriapinder.com. Member of Florida Romance Writers, Contemporary Romance, Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal chapter of RWA, Celtic Hearts and Savvy Authors.

FB button FINALtwitter button FinalWebsite buttonGoodreadsFINAL
Goodreads Button with Shadow



fav coffee fav crush grds

Amazon FinalB&N FINAL



GIVEAWAY!!!





promotionsbutton with TRIM

Thursday, August 28, 2014

The Frost of Springtime by Rachel L. Demeter Sales Blitz

TheFrostofSpringtimeSalesBlitzBanner




TheFrostofSpringtime.Free
Book Title: The Frost of Springtime Author: Rachel L. Demeter Genre: Historical Romance Release Date: February 14, 2014 Hosted by: Book Enthusiast Promotions

To rescue her was to rescue his own soul.On a cold Parisian night, Vicomte Aleksender de Lefèvre forges an everlasting bond with a broken girl during her darkest hour, rescuing her from a life of abuse and misery. Tormented by his own demons, he finds his first bit of solace in sheltering little Sofia Rose. But when Aleksender is drawn away by the Franco-Prussian war, the seasons pass. And in that long year, Sofia matures into a stunning young woman—a dancer with an understanding of devotion and redemption far surpassing her age. Alongside his closest friend, Aleksender returns home to find that “home” is gone—replaced by revolution, bloodshed, betrayal—and a love always out of reach. Scarred inside and out, he’s thrust into a world of sensuality and violence—a world in which all his hours have now grown dark, and where only Sofia might bring an end to the winter in his heart. Inspired by the 1871 Paris Commune, The Frost of Springtime is a poignant tale of revolution, redemption, and the healing power of love.

I AM YOURS AND YOUR ARE MINE - TEASER QUOTE



RachelLDemeter_portrait
Rachel L. Demeter 
Rachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and high school sweetheart of ten years. She enjoys writing dark, edgy romances that challenge the reader’s emotions and examine the redeeming power of love. Imagining stories and characters has been Rachel’s passion for longer than she can remember. Before learning how to read or write, she would dictate stories while her mom would jot them down for her. She has a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether sculpting the protagonist or antagonist, she always ensures that every character is given a soul. Rachel strives to intricately blend elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some common themes her stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness. Her dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through her words.






Exerpt: 
 The heat of their bodies mingled as one. With each breath, Aleksender drank in the sweet essence of his beloved ward. His mind swam with unorthodox visions and desires. He inclined his head, lost to the power of her nearness, entranced by everything that was Sofia Rose. “Alek, my Alek …” Each word infused Aleksender with a delicious and undeniable warmth. Intoxicated by roses and wintertime, he found it difficult to speak, difficult to think. Breathless, he swallowed and met the haunting depths of her eyes. “Please,” she dreamily murmured, “I want you to kiss me again…”




PAIN IS IN THE MIND - TEASER QUOTE



FB button FINALtwitter button FinalWebsite buttonGoodreadsFINALPinterest Button FINALgoogle plus button FINAL
Goodreads Button with Shadow


YOU HAVE A SOLDIER'S HEART - TEASER QUOTE



TheFrostofSpringtime.free Salecard

Amazon FinalB&N FINAL



AMAZON FREE - FINAL - THE FROST OF SPRINGTIME


GIVEAWAY!!!




promotionsbutton with TRIM
Related Posts with Thumbnails